Croydon collection crew crowned winners at awards

Three London organisations were crowned Champions of Excellence in Waste Management and Recycling at the annual awards.

A Croydon crew won the Collection Crew of the Year Award, sponsored by Geesinknorba. The crew, Nic Chappell, Lewis Elvin and Dave Murray work for Veolia Environmental Services collecting recycling from domestic properties. The judges mentioned the crew kept recycling collection in Croydon on schedule when the borough was hit by flooding early in 2014. The crew worked longer hours to ensure services were not affected.

The Local Authority Recycling Champion Award, sponsored by Biffa, went to Jessica Bunker of the London Borough of Ealing. She lead a range of initiatives across the West London borough to increase recycling participation and co-ordinated communication campaigns for a range of schemes including recycling rewards, bulky re-use, WEEE recycling and garden waste. He efforts have helped increase the borough’s recycling rates by 2%.

The Retail Recycling Champion Award went to Westfield Stratford City, in partnership with Westsolve. Westfield Stratford City, which is next to the Olympic Park, has more than 300 retail stores. The centre has its own Green Academy set up to educate tenants and promote the message of resource sustainability which forms a part of a comprehensive communications campaign. Waste reduction has formed the core of Westfield’s actions, with zero waste to landfill also a key aim.

“The standard of entries this year was undoubtedly the highest we’ve ever seen,” said Steve Eminton, editor of “We sincerely congratulate every organisation and individual who was acknowledged as a 2014 finalist, because that is an incredible achievement in itself. The judges had a tough task selecting the winners.

“But those winners deserve great praise for their achievements – they have proved an unswerving commitment to the UK’s sustainability agenda and a forward-thinking approach to ensuring long-term recycling and waste management success. I look forward to seeing what further developments unfold between now and our 2015 Awards for Excellence campaign.”

For a full list of winners go to




Charity Number: 1118616 | Company Number: 4323551