Energy Globe Awards Competition

The Energy Globe Awards are an international competition which seeks to recognise and reward organisations that have developed and implemented environmental projects that make economical use of resources and employ alternative energy sources.

The aim of the awards is to promote innovative and sustainable environmental projects to the wider international community and encourage their replication in other countries.

The awards are open to all organisations with suitable projects. Awards are contested at a regional, national, European and International level, with the successful projects being publicised to a television audience of 2.5 billion households.

Winners of the International Energy Globe in each category receive €10,000, a bronze statue and benefit from extensive television publicity reaching over two billion people.

The Energy Globe Award is open to companies, private and public institutions and individuals from all over the world. This includes, among others:

  • Companies (eg energy technology companies, social housing associations, energy utilities, energy consultants and planners, other commercial and industrial companies);
  • Municipalities, local, regional and national authorities, government departments;
  • Universities, research institutions;
  • Schools;
  • Private households;
  • Others.

Award Categories

Entries are assigned by the judges to the following award categories.  A single project can be entered under more than one category, and more than one project can be submitted.

The Earth Category

This category is about conservation and sustainable treatment of the planet. For example, projects on topics such as building materials, buildings, energy plants and traffic routes.

The Fire Category

This category is about energy. For example, projects that involve energy production, the use of renewable fuels, energy distribution and transport, energy utilisation, and energy optimisation should be submitted to this category.

The Water Category

Submissions to the water category can include projects in areas such as drinking water supply, domestic water, irrigation, protection of waterways, shipping, and avoidance and treatment of waste water.

The Air Category

Any measures that contribute to improving air quality, including the avoidance of CO2 emissions, can be submitted in this category, including projects involving optimisation of combustion processes, reduction of greenhouse gases or emissions, indoor air quality, etc.

The Youth Category

Any measures that promote sustainable thinking and action on the part of young people and any actions that young people implement for the benefit of the environment can be submitted under this category.

Application Procedure

Applications should be made via the online submission form which can be accessed on the Award’s website.

For further information on how to obtain this grant locally, please contact the following:

Energy Globe Awards,  Mühlbach 7, 4801 Traunkirchen,  Austria.
Tel: +43 7617 20900.

E-mail Contact

Charity Number: 1118616 | Company Number: 4323551